Susan Sutter to Assume Board Chair

Jill Link Elected to the Board


Algona, IA (May 28, 2024) – Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company today announced the retirement of Kirk Hayes as Board Chair of the company’s Board of Directors, effective as of the date of the company’s 2024 Annual Meeting held on May 17. Following Hayes’ retirement as Board Chair, Susan Sutter, R.PH., will assume the role of Board Chair. Hayes will remain on the Board as a Director. The company also announces the election of Jill Link, J.D., Pharm.D., as a Director of the Board.


“It has been an honor to serve on the Pharmacists Mutual’s Board and witness first-hand how the company has evolved to become a nationally recognized, specialized insurance provider for not only pharmacy but other related healthcare practices,” said Kirk Hayes, Pharmacists Mutual’s Board Chair. “As I reflect on my tenure with Pharmacists Mutual, I’m grateful for the remarkable and inspiring leaders with whom I’ve had the privilege to serve.”


“Having served alongside Susan, who is now in her 19th year on the Board, I know she is uniquely qualified to serve as Chair to ensure Pharmacists Mutual’s advances with today’s ever-changing landscapes of the insurance industry and professions we serve,” continued Hayes. “Now is the right moment to evolve that Board’s structure, and I look forward to seeing Pharmacists Mutual continue to flourish for years to come.”


“Kirk has been a tremendous advisor to Pharmacists Mutual’s since joining the Board in 1969, including his time as President of the company before serving alongside three Pharmacists Mutual CEOs. His vision, thoughtful counsel, and dedication created a blueprint for us all to navigate change and uphold our leading position in the industry,” said Aaron Pearce, Pharmacists Mutual President and Chief Executive Officer. “On behalf of the Board, I would like to thank Kirk for his unwavering commitment and leadership to Pharmacists Mutual.”


“I am honored to assume the role of Board Chair of the Board of Directors of Pharmacists Mutual following our Annual Meeting. As Chair, I am committed to advancing our business strategy and delivering strong performance,” said Susan Sutter. “In today’s dynamic environment, I will ensure that Pharmacists Mutual remains nimble as we continue building the strength of the brand and work alongside Aaron, President and CEO, to drive financial stability and growth.”


“I am pleased to welcome a leader of Jill’s caliber as a member of the Board of Directors. Her business acumen, legal abilities, and understanding of pharmacy and life science make her an ideal fit for Pharmacists Mutual,” continued Pearce.


“It is an honor to be elected to Pharmacists Mutual’s Board, and I am excited to have the opportunity to serve Pharmacists Mutual as a Director. I look forward to working with the Board and executive team to find continued success through serving our mutual membership,” said Jill Link, who is replacing retiring 21-year Board member F. Michael James, R.Ph.




About Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company


Pharmacist Mutual Insurance Company is headquartered in Algona, Iowa. PMIG provides specialized insurance solutions through insurance products offered through its underwriting companies and wholly-owned insurance agency, PMC Advantage Insurance Services, Inc. Founded in 1909, the group continues to be the largest provider of commercial lines property and casualty products for independently owned and operated pharmacy in the United States. The insurance company subsidiaries of PMIG are rated A- (Stable) by AM Best*. Learn more about Pharmacists Mutual and its complete product line at For inquiries, please call (515) 295-2461.


*Effective January 25, 2024. AM Best Company credit ratings are independent and objective opinion, not a statement of fact. For the latest Best’s Credit Rating, access